The Perfect Day

Happy Friday the 13th!  Today’s Nablopomo prompt asks you to “Describe your ideal day off. What would you do with your time?”

My ideal day would involve three things.  People. Food. Places. Usually it’s easy to combine all three.  But my ideal day probably has to be spread over a weekend given what I would like to include in an ideal day. Realistically I would spread it over two.But let’s say we lived in Utopia and a day was longer than 24 hours.

I would start off with watching the sun rise.  Favourite persons included.  A bit of a stroll on the Sea Point Promenade followed by breakfast. Of course breakfast is somewhere close to the ocean.  Exact location would be decided on the day along the promenade route.

This would be followed by a leisurely drive into the countryside to explore one of Cape Town’s country towns (like Stellenbosch or Franschhoek) or visit a wine farm.  This would involve either exploring said country town or doing a tour of the wine farm.  This would then be topped off by lunch at one of the restaurants in whichever little country town or wine farm I find myself.  Favourite persons included.

Lunch would (usually) include a main course and my favourite dessert. And when I say favourite dessert, it could be any dessert. I have a sweet tooth. But my favourites include Eton Mess, Creme Brulee,Pavlova or Banana Split. Incidentally, I was very happy to find out that Manna Epicure in Kloofstreet has a divine Banana Split on their menu. Its hard to find a place that serves Banana Split. But I digress.

After lunch. A slow drive back to the city to enjoy relaxing sundowners.  Again overlooking the ocean. This time a bit closer to the other side of the world at Blouberg Strand.

The reason for this.  While the ocean is just as pretty that side. It takes me closer to where I would end up for supper. At my sister’s house for a braai with my family. My sister is a Braai Master! The braai would include non-banting friendly Roosterbrood with cheese, onion and tomato toasted on the open fire.  A truly South African braai would usually include Chicken, Lamb Chops, Pork Rashers, skilpadjies, boerewors and an assortment of salads. But because this is my ideal day it would just have to be chicken and ribs braaid to perfection. Served with potato salad, cole slaw and Waldorf salad. Dessert would be Tin Roof Or Blueberry Cheesecake ice cream.

The day would be rounded off with board games like 30 Seconds or charades.

And that’s my ideal day! What’s yours and whom would you spend it with?

Leave a Reply

