The final post for November Nablopomo 2015

The end of November and the Nablopomo Challenge. I have posted for 5 days of the week for the entire 4 weeks of November. A part of me is feeling pretty meh about it right now. Although I know its an accomplishment to have done what I committed to do. But now I am thinking, what’s next? Will I continue this blog thing or will it fade into oblivion? I guess only time will tell. But, let me not get side-tracked and use today’s final prompt to write this post.

What do you like to do to celebrate an accomplishment?

I usually like to go out for a nice celebratory meal with someone or someones who appreciates the achievement. Some nice food. Great company and good wine. But in this instance, as this is a writing related achievement. I shall be celebrating with the purchase of a book.

Many years ago, I got Dr Oliver Sack’s book, The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat as a gift. I thought it an interesting gift at the time. Mostly because I wondered how the gift giver would even know what to buy me. How do you buy someone a book if you don’t know their tastes?

I was too young to appreciate the opportunity. I say opportunity because when someone buys you something they enjoyed reading, it gives you a chance to learn more about them. And you also get to expand your mind beyond your own comfort zone of reading material. So, at the time I was only marginally interested but never really read it with any amount of gusto.

I guess it goes back to that Buddhist/Zen (not sure who said it best) saying that When the Student is Ready, the Teacher will appear. At the time this student had no sense of appreciation for the profound wisdom to be found in Dr Sacks’ writing. And as if by some message from somewhere. A blog I subscribe to has brought the writings of Dr Sacks’ back into my life. As if sent by special messenger.

So the celebratory gift, instead of a dinner out, will be a Dr Sacks’ book. I am deciding between Gratitude and On The Move.

How do you like celebrating an achievement? Leave me a note in the comments.

Leave a Reply

